The I hate Mathematics! book

Today’s math lesson was taken from The I Hate Mathematics! Book by Marilyn Burns. 

In keeping with our new routine of two Living Math lessons a week I have already noticed improvement in my son, as far as  understanding concepts, and better outlook/attitude all around as he seems to be actually enjoying math?! He even asked yesterday if we could do one more math lesson…What? I almost fell out of my chair. This is a significant turn around for him. So glad I did some research and have incorporated more story form math lessons as well as hands on, seems like we’re heading in the right direction.

Today was CUTTING SIDEWALKS.  We headed outside to the sidewalk and began following along with the book using chalk to cut up the sidewalk rectangles into pieces. Starting with one line, How many pieces are made? How about three lines?

Do the same number of lines drawn always have the same amount of segments? He tried drawing 5 lines in different ways to find out!

After gathering his data. We headed inside and I asked him to write down a few definitions as we talked about a Line, line segments and partitioning.

Next in keeping with the topic of partitioning, we used popsicle sticks and a round tray to begin cutting it up.  I asked questions like: If you had 4 guests how could you cut the cake evenly for all your guests? How about 6 guests? Ok, even numbers are pretty easy to divide. What about 11 guests? And so on….

2 thoughts on “The I hate Mathematics! book

  1. Great post! I am going to check out that book! While they aren’t bad in math, neither of my boys enjoy it. That may never change (and if you ask the hubs, it only gets worse, lol!), but I would like to try and find a way to make it more fun. If not FUN, I’ll settle for marginally interesting. 🙂

    I’ve seen so many recommendations in my search of the blogosphere. Life of Fred has jumped out at me repeatedly. I just saw this book on Amazon, and it’s very affordable…and since you really can’t have *too* many homeschooling resources, I think it’s worth a read!

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    Katie
    A computer junkie, workbook hating, TV watching, iGadget addicted, eclectic homeschooling, soccer mom of 2 boys. 🙂

  2. In my opinion, children do not hate mathematics as much as fear it. They have to be comfortable with it. We need to re-examine how mathematics is taught to our children. Making mathematics fun for children and helping them not to be afraid of numbers is a crucial step.

Leave a Reply

