Wonder Struck, Mapping and More!

I found by chance a link to scholastic on  Colonial Times yesterday while doing a general search on the topic. So, this is what we started our day with today! We began with reading   “A Journey to the New World” under the Scrapbook tab. It gave a brief journal type overview of the early settlement. Found within the scrapbook, is a section for crafts and recipes, in it we found one on making old paper.  This link will bring you to the recipe.

We headed to the kitchen and made the paper, quick project using coffee and tea. Later after it dried my oldest wrote a letter to his grandparents on it. One of his sentences tells them to smell the paper ;).  He chose to write a letter vs. doing his grammar notebook with out a second thought! He hates to write, but if it’s somewhat of a fun twist, he’ll go for it with minimal grumbles!

While we dried our paper in the oven I pulled out the big map of the U.S. as we continue to learn about each of the 50 states for Geography, as well as our current topic of water in Science.  I blended the two as we had the map out in front of us. I found a variation of this idea on pinterest and just tweaked it a bit. I had him study the map and point out different sources of water, land and water forms. Using blue construction paper to resemble the water, and using green play-doh as the land, I asked him to form these different types and label them.

While the map was still out I handed him a print out of the U.S. found online via my sister. We have read about two states so far, so I had him locate them and color them in and use the states abbreviation to label. Going forward we will fill in as we go along.

Next we read a favorite ” A House for Hermit Crab” by Eric Carle. As I read aloud I asked him to look on and draw from the book. I gave him oil pastels to use, and he thought they were a bit tricky. If you’ve never used them, they are! But all in all I think it came out really well and he was pleased too. I am trying to insert art in various ways with exposure to many mediums in hopes to find one he really likes. He likes to do art, but it’s not high on his list of favorites. Being that I love the arts, I am going to be persistent mostly because I know it can be such a huge tool for children as a creative outlet! My toddler worked on his fine motor skills, playing- bird catching the worm! I cut up pieces of yarn and ribbon, gave him a clothes pin to use as the bird beak and he had to pick up his worms and place them in a “nest”. He kept holding the clothes pin upside down though! I kept trying to correct him but he insisted on using it that way and honestly it worked! They ended up being more like chopsticks I guess?!

After lunch we finished reading “Wonder Struck”! 600 pages later, we made it to the end! We both enjoyed it very much. Wonderful and creative story line-amazing!! I honestly just discovered the above link for it too as I was looking for a link to the book itself…think I know what we’re going to explore later on!

!

I also came across a Lego site for Castles this morning and showed my oldest, not surprisingly he played on there for a while, reading the story book, playing games and making his own coat of arms, etc.

Now this afternoon, we’ll probably head to our home away from home…the library!

Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

